Forums

1950’s Style Dubrovnik Review

Sort:
Powderdigit

TLDR:  

I am anxious writing this review because Dubrovnik pieces seem to create a lot of emotion. I hope this review reads objectively, that is my intent. In short, the pieces are magnificent. RCM was responsive. It’s a lovely set. Skip to the bottom of review for photos.

…...................

For those that want to go a bit deeper ….

It’s been a while since I have written a review and I must say, I harbour some anxiety in writing this one. There’s been a lot of emotion in the CB&E forum over the past week or so, and thus, a few caveats if I may:

• I am not a Dubrovnik expert – please take my comments as a layman; I cannot speak to the historical accuracy of the set that I have purchased.
  • The earlier 50’s style attracted my eye more than some of the later styles; pure related to my taste – nothing more nothing less.
  • My purchase price is at the cheaper end of the scale - AUD$268 (circa USD$175) including all taxes charges, freight etc... Pleasenote: while this set is in ‘my range’ of affordability it does not reflect my view of other sets. Further, I appreciate and admire those that can afford more expensive sets (and indeed, I might have purchased such sets if money was no object). 
  • My decision to purchase from this manufacturer – being Royal Chess Mall – was based on the balance of their reasonable price and the fact that I really wanted a set of the style of the early 50’s and that of the options available, this set looked most appealing to my eye.
  • I have some experience buying new and second-hand sets – but there are many more people far better placed than I to review and compare to other options. I cannot do that – this is my onlyDubrovnik; I have no other reference.
  • My want was a playable chess set – not a valuable collectable, per se. Both would be great, but this is not a valuable collectable.