Forums

How long did it take you to get an elo of 1000 in chess.

Sort:
PresentColony

I just wanted to know what are the things I just need to do to cross over to an elo of 1000. In 900, it's a bit of a mess as some people are either strong or just weak in chess. So far, my highest rating has been 974.

SFswimmer
Stay solid and do not blunder and try to play puzzles and win I think at least one should work
PresentColony

Sometimes I just feel that I'm not good at chess.

sblee_z

Nobody was born able to walk. You're not bad at chess. You're just early in the process.

Personally, I think it's about reducing the number of mistakes and being able to put the opponent under pressure without compromising your position that makes you better at chess.

Focused, deliberate practice is the fastest way to improve in anything! For chess that would be doing puzzles, reading books, analyzing your games, practicing opening, middlegame, endgame scenarios, and more! 

Good luck and have fun!

HNHNHNHNHNHNHN

Lel I was once 600, we all start somewhere. Just like every human being is saying, puzzles, analyze your games, especially the ones you did bad in, pick an opening for white and black and stick with it, as well as just learn basic checkmate patterns.

ppg70

I also experienced that a lot of people with an elo between 900 and 1000 can be super strong. Some of them were clearly stronger than people in the 1100-1200 range. Why that is I don't know. Maybe some of them dropped their rating on purpose for some reason. I also noticed that rating can vary quite a bit. I'm constantly between 1000-1200 and sometimes it took only a few days to lose about 150 points in rating. So just keep playing, I wouldn't worry to much about the rating. I think in the 900-1200 range it's not as accurate as one may think.

DasBurner

Took me about a month to get from 800 to 1000, although I probably played hundred of rapid games over that one month

ricorat

It took me 4 months to get ther from 500