Forums

100-rated players are way too good

Sort:
PrestonPorchev

I’m stuck in 100 Elo hell, a level that’s said to consist of only the noobiest of absolute beginners to Chess. People make fun of 100 Elo, saying that these players probably don’t even know how the pieces move, let alone deliver checkmate.

However, the opponents in the games I played (I’m rated 125 in Blitz cry) seem so good relative to their ratings. They know how to do forks, pins, skewers, discovered attacks, Fried Liver, checkmate with K+Q, and more. They manage to use tactics and see moves that I never expected 100–200-rated players to know about. Yet they do it. Why are they good? Do most beginners binge-watch GothamChess nowadays?

llama36

I know some players are legitimately below 500, but there has to be a certain percent that are sandbagging down to that level for the heck of it.

If you know words like fork and pin and gotham chess it's hard to believe you're legitimately rated 100.

The biggest concept to understand is it's not ok to lose pieces for free. Beginners often think it's not a big deal to lose a bishop or a knight or a pawn... but giving away even a single pawn is a big mistake. Play a few dozen games while doing your best to not give anything away for free. Choose a time control long enough that you have a reasonable chance of accomplishing this. Do that and your rating will go up.

Mattew

I saw your games and well you could have won lots of time. See that fork ? The knight was hanging. See that pawn you took with your queen ? It was protected with a knight. Myself im really bad at chess, but i guess the best way to improve, it's learning

ConfusedGhoul

I saw your last games, you both make serious 1 move blunders and you both don't have any strategy at all

x-3862370456

There is too many sandbaggers on this site, I even recently played a 900 rated player and plays like a 1300 player like me, I don't think the rating system here is accurate.

llama36
Arsenic03 wrote: